Photo Credit: Eric Matheson Photography |

With a decade of musical output, Orchid’s Curse create a beautiful amalgamation of brutal metal, progressive melody and intelligent thought provoking lyrics. Whether in a live setting or on album, Orchid’s Curse refuse stagnation and orders your full attention.
Since forming in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia in late 2005, Orchid’s Curse have positioned themselves at the forefront of the highly under rated East Coast metal scene in Canada. Ensuring that every show left the band drained of all they had and every album was created with the most care and the best team they could find. From their 2006 debut “Goodbye is when the Casket Closes”, the 2010 defining “Voices: The Tales of Broken Men” or the dark 2013 output of “Words”, Orchid’s Curse has collected praise from around the globe. captured the band’s goal of blending various genres of metal, declaring “Orchid’s Curse is one of those bands that plays around with melodeath, groove, thrash, and occasionally prog with enough fluidity to rid themselves of any sort of pesky sub genre tags and earn the simple, yet elegant classification of ‘metal’.” while Canada’s recognized the bands continued progression and growth over the years stating, “Few bands demand that each album be a progression, a growth, in the way that Orchid’s Curse does. No musical influence is turned away, but everything is twisted, melded into an intense metal experience that makes your head bang one moment and your toes tap the next… With Words, Orchid’s Curse has spread its metallic wings a little further and at the same time created the most cohesive, memorable album of its career.”

March 2016 will see the band release their long awaited, new 4-song EP, “Cynics & Liars” which  like their previous release “Words” was recorded at CodaPop Studios in Halifax and mastered by Jamie King (Between the Buried and Me, Glass Casket).

Since 2006 Orchid’s Curse has shared the stage with an incredibly diverse line up of bands including, The Black Dahlia Murder, Children of Bodom, Every Time I Die, Cancer Bats, 3 Inches of Blood, Goatwhore, Exhumed, Fuck the Facts, KEN Mode, Misery Index, Counterparts, Baptized in Blood, Martyr, Beneath the Massacre, Vilipend, Ion Dissonance, Neuraxis, L’Espirit du Clan, Unexpect, Trigger Effect, Ninjaspy, Unbreakable Hatred, Misguided Aggression, Greber and many more.


Josh Hogan – Vocals
Brian Jones – Guitar/Vocals
Keith MacLeod – Guitar
Jason Szeto – Bass
Alex Wrathell – Drums


Have Shared The Stage With:  

  • The Black Dahlia Murder
  • Exhumed
  • Every Time I Die
  • Children of Bodom
  • Cancer Bats
  • 3 Inches of Blood
  • Goatwhore
  • Fuck the Facts
  • Misery Index
  • KEN Mode
  • Counterparts
  • Baptized in Blood
  • Martyr
  • Beneath the Massacre
  • Vilipend
  • Ion Dissonance
  • Neuraxis
  • L’Espirit du Clan
  • Unexpect
  • Trigger Effect
  • Ninjaspy
  • Unbreakable Hatred
  • Misguided Aggression
  • Greber


Tours & Festivals:

  • The TerminaTOUR with Black Moor (Maritime Dates: 2016)
  • 4x4x4 Tour (Summer 2015)
  • 3 Inches of Blood & Goatwhore (Maritime Dates: 2013)
  • Bogus Journey Tour with Biipiigwan (Ontario, Quebec and Maritime Dates: 2013)
  • 3 Inches of Blood (Maritime Dates: 2012)
  • Misery Index, Fuck the Facts, Unbreakable Hatred (Maritime Dates: 2011)
  • Halifax Pop Explosion (2008, 2010, 2011 + 2013)
  • Nova Scotia Music Week (2011, 2012 + 2013)
  • East Coast Music Awards (2009, 2011, 2013 + 2014)
  • East Coast Loud Tour (2011)
  • Thrashfest (2009 & 2011)
  • Mimefest (2009)